Persona 2: Innocent Sin translation blog

Where Atlus fails, we don’t!

Still more menus

Posted by Gemini on March 6, 2008

Still more Personal Data:
maya-status.png
I’ve finally got translated that part which tells you what your persona is weak/immune/resistant/etc to. Should be pretty much consistent with EP, even tho I changed some retarded words like Nerve (神経) which didn’t really make much sense, but it’s pretty much the same thing. There are still a couple of things to fix, like the characters’ names under their portraits (they are gfx, but I want them to be text), swap “Use” and “SP”, and rework a little Tatsuya’s page which is somehow broken (i.e. strange spacing). Once those are gone, Persona Data menu can be considered done.

Oh yeah, and fixed configuration menu:
config-3.png
This one looks totally identical to EP’s now, and is to be considered final. And I know about that “it’s” typo. It’s just that I’m too lazy to upload a screenshot just for an additional apostrophe. xD

I’ve also added a Help Wanted page with a request about the title screen logo.

24 Responses to “Still more menus”

  1. Chris8282 said

    Gemini = Update Maniac.. Maybe Coffee is good for him.

  2. takehaniyasubiko said

    Keep them coming! ;P

  3. All I can say is thank you – I’ve wanted to play this game for ages, and hopefully thanks to your efforts will will some day come true.

  4. MetRONom said

    AWESOME!!AWESOME!!AWESOME!!AWESOME!!AWESOME!! XD

  5. Square711 said

    Gemini… seriously, I’ve never seen someone update so much and so fast. o_o Keep it up.

  6. Gemini said

    Helps me to concentrate on this project.

  7. SlyStrife said

    Awesome job! I’m getting more and more excited with each passing screenshot. Me loves you! :hands out cookie:: ^_^

  8. Chris8282 said

    Lot of people posting here. I assume some of the people from the GameFAQs/GameSpot topics I posted. I guess this place is replacing the forum.

  9. KrelianX said

    I’m from the P3 FES forums myself :D I’m glad I saw that topic, otherwise I wouldn’t be here :(

    Keep up the good work.

  10. enderall said

    Gemini,keep your excellent job!!!

    Right now,I am playing your wonderful translation for Tales of Phantasia.

    You rock,really!!!

  11. Chris8282 said

    I’m from the P3 FES forums myself :D I’m glad I saw that topic, otherwise I wouldn’t be here :(

    Well I’m glad you came.

  12. Domo-kun said

    Maia instead of Maya? o_O

  13. Takehaniyasubiko said

    It’s the name of Maya’s starting Persona.

  14. Domo-kun said

    OH…

  15. Gnome said

    Gemini you freaking ROCK!!

  16. Takehaniyasubiko said

    And he can cook, too! :P

  17. food for thought said

    Nerve is an accurate translation of 神経. I really don’t like this game, but I ended up here via the SH April’s Fools post. If you’re not copying AtlusUSA’s EP or there are aspects in IS missing from EP I can help a little.

    Just out of curiosity, what is Mental/Spiritual? People often mis-translate these affinities in very inappropriate ways.

    魔力 should be Spiritual, and 精神 could be Mental or Psychic. If P2 uses these. Nerve or Nervous is good for the other in this triad. 神経 is more based on the peripheral nervous system. Like acupuncture.

    精神 is sometimes translated as spirit, but in English you can only really use it this was as in the “spirit of the nation” (ie, psyche)

    魔力 is translated as magic often, but really this is culturally insensitive. In Japan this traditionally refers to Shinto magic, which is a spirit based religion, and that is how it is used in Megaten. So its more appropriate to translate as Spiritual.

    And Maya is probably a more appropriate translation of Maia. I don’t think that is a Japanese name.

  18. Gemini said

    精神=Spiritual, 神経=Mental. I don’t think Nerve really works for a type of spell, that’s why I changed it into mental. As for Maya/Maia, they are entirely different names, and they are both correct where they belong to.

  19. food for thought said

    精神=Spiritual, 神経=Mental. I don’t think Nerve really works for a type of spell, that’s why I changed it into mental. As for Maya/Maia, they are entirely different names, and they are both correct where they belong to.

    If that was the AtlusUSA translation I wouldn’t really stand to correct it if you are trying to be faithful to the EP localization. I don’t know P2 spells, but every Megaten game I know of going way back and including IMAGINE are clear on these affinities and how they relate. It bothers me that AtlusUSA would translate them that way. What really bothers me is all the names are kinda right, they’re just assigned to the wrong affinities all around, which really makes the mistaken translation doubly scandalous.

    If AtlusUSA translated that, I have to wonder if their translators even comprehend Japanese.

    精神=Spiritual, 神経=Mental. Is EP translated that way? Is 魔力 in P2? I assume it is if the others are, it’s roots go way back. That is the spirit affinity. Its really less “spiritual”, and more an affinity based on nature/ancestor spirit worship (ghosts)

  20. food for thought said

    must’ve left my closure slash off the blockquote element there :) –2008 and no preview feature???

    精神=Spiritual, 神経=Mental. I don’t think Nerve really works for a type of spell, that’s why I changed it into mental. As for Maya/Maia, they are entirely different names, and they are both correct where they belong to.

  21. food for thought said

    I’m not trying to harp, just being helpful. But in almost all cases I know of (I don’t know P2)

    神経 is used for paralysis/bondage type abilities. (nerve)
    精神 is used for seduction type abilities (psychic)
    魔力 is used for assorted witchy type stuff (governed by spirits)

    In the past 魔力 governed all of this stuff more or less. Examples of this affinity are like spirit bullets and fog breath used by Izanami and Kerberos in the original novel based anime. These attacks also include poison and magic sealing effects. And pretty much all traditional Japanese type magic. Its basically a catch all for anything that doesn’t fit into the standard molds really.

  22. Gemini said

    魔力 is nowhere to be found in Persona 2, and the project was never meant to have full consistency with Eternal Punishment as I already stated in the FAQs, so I’m keeping Spiritual and Mental.

  23. food for thought said

    Thats cool. Sorry I haven’t browsed your faq or played P2. If I was a fan I might be more inclined to implore ya, but nevertheless happy hunting, and I’m sure the community appreciates your effort and patience.

    You know its been so long since I played P1 I dug out my manual to see. There is a lot of funky stuff going on with it. There is no 精神 affinity, and many of its spells are put into the 神経 group. There is an affinity that looks like 魔力 but with different kanji, the second kanji is 魔. And there is another odd set with spells you don’t see in cannon Megaten (not including Persona’s extra elemental type affinities)

    In general though the spells are all shifted around. I don’t know the precise translation for the two new kanji affinities off hand. It looks like P2 might be more traditional though. There might be a similar affinity with 魔 in the name. Nevertheless I feel like if I entertained this discussion any further I’d have to look into a P2 reference manual, so I’ll just leave it be :)

    PS: I never could tell whether EP employed Spiritual or not.

  24. Takehaniyasubiko said

    LOL, that’s what I call an “intellectual masturbation”…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

